My 2005 Ducati Monster 620

I was looking and apparently I haven’t really written up about my bike.  A mistake I have now rectified.

It is my first bike and boy have we seen it all. As of this writing it has about 60,000 miles on it. I got it in June of 2006 with 1350 miles on it. It has a salvage title and I purchased it from a retired fireman who bought it and fixed it up. I have since crashed it once badly enough to need to salvage it again. This might all sound bad, but with a Ducati it’s easy to cause enough damage to total it. Here she is in 2007ishImage I haven’t done much to modify her, got a sergeant seat to improve long distance comfort and handlebar risers to improve my around town comfort. I now have bar end mirrors to replace the ones that came with the bike when I got it which (pictured) look horrible. In late 2008 my dash began to die, it had a crack in it from the first crash and water had slowly been eating away at the innards. At this time I had put over 36,000 miles on it and it was due for another 12k service. I took it into the shop and was quoted for a new dash of over $800, this plus the cost of a service and new tires was going to set me back quite a bit. Since the desire for a new bike was very strong at the time I convinced my Lovely Wife that instead of pouring money into this bike, I should get a new one. I got a BMW F800S, and after it tried to kill me (long story) I found a used dash and put this lovely lass back on the road in early 2011. Since then we’ve done another 20,000+ miles. I ride as often as I can, my daily commute is 54 miles round trip.  I’d like to say that I ride rain or shine, but since my big crash one the BMW, I’ve started to take the car if it’s really coming down, it’s just not worth the Lovely Wife worrying about me.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 2005 Ducati Monster 620

  1. That cycle has true grit and character given all the action it has seen. In my opinion character is the most important attribute.

Leave a Reply

