The wind in your hair…

I picked up my bike from the shop on Saturday. As usual they guys there were great and I took my dead old stator for prosperity.

My Ducati Monster is a 8 year old bike with almost 60,000 miles on it. It has been dropped a few times and crashed a few too, to my dismay. It’s… worn in. But as I drove up and saw it parked outside waiting, I was struck again how nice it looks. Maybe it’s just me being in love with my bike, but so what, I think it’s a great looking motorcycle. It’s also a bit funny since it had only been a week and a half since I dropped it off, but I missed it I guess.

Something else struck me when I got on the bike and left to head home.

For me, when its been a while since I’ve ridden last, those first few moments of moving remind me of what a joy riding is. This feeling is often lost on the road when I’m busy dodging people talking on their phones as they drive etc.

There is very little I can compare riding a motorcycle to, but the sense of flying and of freedom are there. It’s having the wind in your hair, except the fact that I find that annoying and wear a full face helmet…

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

