Bliss

I rode the motorcycle down to Anaheim on Thursday and then back today.

Thursday’s ride was amazing. I got an early start Thursday, and was in Santa Cruz by 8am. I topped off my tank and headed down Hwy 1.
The next 3 hours were basically bliss. Traffic was light and while it was cool, it was sunny and everything is so green right now that sometimes I just slowed down and stared at the wonder I was riding through. The road is of course a nice combination of fast straights with good not too tight turns. It’s also clear of most debris, with only some water crossing the water in a couple of corners (which was gone by Sunday).
Thinking back on it, I’m still filled with a sense of awe and joy, it was almost the perfect morning.
So when planing my Trip my goal was to reach SLO by noon or one and have lunch there. I was much earlier than that. I arrived at 11am, so I filled up the bike and kept going.

The world is not as nice south of SLO, still 101 is pretty enough for a multi lane hwy, and the weather warmed up became a beautiful day. My lunch stop a bit after one was needed after so many miles on the motorcycle. My hands were getting numb with the constant vibration and I needed a stretch.
I stayed on one after Onxard, and headed toward Malibu. I was looking for Route 23, but seeing a sign for Mulholland Hwy, I decided to just head into the hills. What a twisty bit of madness that was! So amazing, and despite wondering if I was lost half the time I did manage to find the Rock Store.

a few more pictures

So after 450 miles and exactly the full 8.5 hours of my ipod playlist I was there at a very lonely and not open Rock Store.
I did not stay long since there was really nothing to do and I still needed to find a gas station since my fuel light had come on just as I arrived also. I took a much shorter route back to 1 and headed south to Santa Monica. Where I found a Starbucks and collected myself after an amazing day.

Notes:
First song played in Play list – Paramore’s Misery Business.
Last song played- Christina Aguliera’s Fighter.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

