Best Man Speech

Good evening, I am greatly honored by Peter having chosen me to be his best man. As many of you know I am Peter’s older brother, Scott.
First off I would like to thank the Brides’ parents Jini and Steve, and my parents George and Michele for making this special day possible. I would also like to thank John and Debbie Pinkston for their generosity, and to thank all of you as well for being here to celebrate Peter and Heather’s marriage.
I was really worried about how long to make this toast. Common wisdom says it’s supposed to be as long as the groom will last on the wedding night. So, Heather just give me a little wave when you want me to stop, ok?
After worrying about how long to make the speech, I thought a lot about whether or not to tell an embarrassing story about Peter. Then I remembered the one he told at my wedding, and well that made that decision… Luckily for me Peter’s done several story worthy, embarrassing things in his life, several with me. (So we won’t be telling any of those) But I think one of my favorites was how he got the an unfortunate nick name.
When Peter was 5 or 6 years old we went back east to visit family for the summer, and while there we went out to one of our great aunt’s farm. Among all the things on the Farm that we saw, Peter had the chance to see two dogs… mating and thought that this act to be so funny that he decided that he would do the same thing to almost everyone he saw. I am sure we did not do enough to discourage this, because we all found it so funny. However he continued to do this, running up to my friends when they came over and “humping” on their legs, for what seemed to me to be forever. Thus, he gained the nick name the “Humpy Man”. Thankfully he hasn’t (to my knowledge) done this to my friends for a while, but I haven’t asked Heather….

I could not wish for a better brother. Peter is and always will be my baby brother and I love him very much. His loyalty, honesty and caring are just a few of his amazing traits. I can think of countless times when he’s come through for me. Like the time Pete with John E dragged along, went to Fry’s on Black Friday and waited in line for hours to get my Wife her birthday present because I was working.
So while I might have the title of “Best Man” it’s clear that the best man here tonight is Peter.
Which got me thinking about where the title of Best Man comes from, so I did a little research. I didnt’ go to any university librarys or anything like that, but google tells us that one of the most likely orgins is from Germanic Tribes from about 2000 years ago. In which you kidnapped your bride from a neighboring tribe. When you went on this raid you would want to take the best man from your village. The best fighter, strongest etc.
So it’s easy to see why Peter chose me.
The best man would also stand next to the Groom during the ceremony to guard against the Brides family if they decided they wanted her back.
But since Heather asked Peter to marry her I did not think this was likely to happen.
This is just one example of how crazy in love Heather is with Peter and I know he feels the same.
Their commitment to eachother is so very strong and I know they will be together forever.

So I would like to toast their commitment this marriage of Peter and Heather.
Cheers!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Man Speech

  1. drvoque says:

    Thank you so much! You helped make it everything I could have wanted.

    -Pete

Leave a Reply

