The Year of the Motorcycle

Well 2006 ended on a rough note; on Dec. 30th I crashed my motorcycle on Hwy 92 on my way to meet the Lovely Wife and our local motorcycle mechanic. I was unhurt but the motorcycle, while still mostly rideable, was pretty banged up. This put a bit of a damper on the New Year, but I had a resolution to not crash any more.

Candice spent the spring finishing up her last semester at Canada Community College. Most of early spring was spent with me anxiously waiting for news on my insurance claim on the motorcycle and Candice waiting for news of her admittance into the Apparel Design Program at San Francisco State University (program is impacted and requires additional applications submitted a year in advance). By the end of spring both of us had received good news, Candice was accepted to the Design program and I got more than enough money to get my motorcycle into better condition than before the crash. I christened my newly repaired motorcycle with an 800+mile, 2 day ride down the coast to Ventura to meet my friend Daymien on his bike, and then back up along Hwy 33 and The Airline Highway. The ride was amazing and plans for another long ride were made as soon as we got back.

The summer was filled with more motorcycling. We did have a long and exciting ride up to Portland and back, as well as going to the MotoGP race at Laguna Seca in late July.

In August we took a break from motorcycling to visit Daymien in New York. Candice and I had never been to New York and we had the most amazing time with Daymien going above and beyond as a host: getting no more than 5 hours of sleep during the work week as he stayed up late with us and yet still got up and put a full day of work in.

On our return from New York, Candice spent some time putting the finishing touches on possibly the most amazing wedding dress yet. Our friends Brian and Kathy’s wedding was beautiful and the dress was highly complemented. My wife continues to amaze me with her talent.

This fall has been spent adjusting to Candice’s life at SFSU. She is still working 20 hours a week at Wachovia Securities, and rides her motorcycle to school while managing a full load of classes. I also commute on my motorcycle meaning that many days of the week the car sits unloved in the garage. I am still at the Sun staying busy with managing the store, and the fall has been extra busy with the new Farmer’s Market on Sundays.

Over all a very busy year, one that I managed to keep my resolution and so far the motorcycle has been upright. Candice and I are doing very well and hope that this letter finds you in a similar state.

Happy Holidays!

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

